Thrashers Infrared Return With Impressive New Album “From the Black Swamp” + Video For Title Track


New Album "From The Black Swamp" Out September 30th

Ottawa's Infrared are a blast from the past with their genuine 80s sound. They first hit the Canadian metal scene in 1986 with their demo, but shortly after, went on a very long hiatus. In 2014, they reformed and since then have put out two full-lengths and an EP with another full-length "From the Black Swamp" on the horizon for this Autumn.

The first single off this new album is the title track, a dark and classic tune that is themed in betrayal and abuse by those closest to you. The band further explains their epic song:

"From the Black Swamp is a metal lover's delight. It has all the elements of a classic thrash metal song, with a big intro, ripping riffs, mid-tempo verses, big bridge, and an epic outro. At just over six minutes, you won't find yourself revisiting familiar territory to the point of being too repetitive. This song is about the insidious form of psychological abuse perpetrated on one victim after another. Hook your prey, then taunt and torture them over the long term all while betraying them in such a cruel fashion that if not caught in time and defended against, will surely destroy you. Only truth can save you."

Infrared started as many bands do, with a love for playing music that they loved and in this case, it was Metallica's "Kill 'Em All", from which Kirk Gidley (guitar) and Armin Kamal (vocals/guitar) were inspired to write Infrared's first single "No Peace". Shortly after, they found locals Alain Groulx (drums) and Shawn Thompson (bass) and the lineup was set. Now, they are stoked to be bringing this new album to ears around the world and show they are still producing high-quality 80s thrash metal 35 years later.

Considerable amounts of experience work well for the band, who hold their own on stage and have a lot of fun playing and involving the audience, they are no stranger to the stage having played with a myriad of thrash legends including Sacrifice both before and after their hiatus. They are hungry to hit the stage once more when the time comes but until then, fans will have to enjoy this new album.

Anyone with a penchant for 80s metal will get a kick out of the latest from Infrared, especially fans of Slayer, Metallica, and Testament.

The video for "From the Black Swamp" can be viewed and heard at 

The entirety of the album will be released on September 30, 2021.

Album pre-order - 

Show Dates:
Nov 27 - Maverick's - Ottawa, ON w/ Enforcer, Thunderdome - info

Track Listing:
1. Tribal Junction – 4:49
2. No Master, No Gods – 4:39
3. Lockdown – 4:02
4. Left Lane F√₵K! – 4:19
5. Eat Your Own – 4:58
6. From the Black Swamp – 6:11
7. Evil Ascent – 5:22
8. Blood & Sweat – 5:04
9. Eternal Exile – 5:09
10. Tradimento – 4:31
11. Beautiful Death – 4:31
12. SemitaDomum – 6:32
Album Length: 1:00:13

Album and Live Band Line Up:
Kirk Gidley – Guitar

Alain Groulx – Drums
Mike Forbes – Bass
Armin Kamal – Vocals, Guitar

For more info:

If Infrared sounds like classic thrash metal, that's because they are! And rightfully so since they were making music as teenagers in the mid to late 80s back when the Big 4 (Metallica, Megadeth, Slayer, Anthrax) were just becoming famous. They literally lived and breathed that scene as it was happening and garnered national attention in Canada through their song and video for Thoughts Caught (in Between). happened and members took different paths and the music, that was hot in the underground metal scene and loved by demo tape traders near and far, went dormant for 27 years! In 2014 Infrared reunited with 3 of the original 4 members (Kirk, Armin, and Alain), and since original bassist Shawn Thompson had moved to Miami, they recruited Mike Forbes. They worked hard to release their first full-length album, No Peace (2016), featuring songs written all those years ago. 2018 saw Infrared release their sophomore album, Saviours, featuring 8 new songs coming in at just over 50 minutes of music! That was followed up by their 2019 EP, Back to the Warehouse featuring the last of their 80's written songs and released as a bridge to their next full-length album. Now, in 2021, Infrared release their most mature album yet, From the Black Swamp. The album features 12 songs for one hour of hard-hitting and emotionally charged songs steeped in the themes of betrayal and malicious sabotage in all walks of life, from societal to interpersonal. With several high-profile concerts under their belts including opening for Anvil, Sacrifice, Razor, Venom Inc., Dirkschneider, Flotsam and Jetsam, DBC, E-Force, and Atrophy, Infrared raises their horns and looks forward to getting out there to meet and befriend metal lovers everywhere!

2021 – From the Black Swamp - LP
2019 – Back to the Warehouse - EP
2018 – Saviours – LP
2016 – No Peace – LP
1986 – R.I.P. Demo

Shared Stage With:
Anvil, Flotsam and Jetsam, Udo Dirkshneider, Sacrifice, Varathron, DBC, E-Force, Vortex, Atrophy, Venom Inc.

Jon Asher - Music Publicist


Posta un commento


Your Best Music Webzine